Page last updated: 10th May 2021

The National Occupational Standards
Recognition of Prior Learning


Validation ​is the process of assessing the skills, knowledge, and competencies an individual has acquired. This is benchmarked against learning outcomes measured and evaluated by a competent body against the said standard.

Informal Learning Non-formal learning
A learning process resulting from daily life activities related to work, family, or leisure by which an individual acquires and accumulates knowledge, skills, attitudes, insight, and competences from daily experiences, and from exposure to one’s environment. Learning embedded in a planned activity organised outside the formal educational system, which activity is not explicitly designed as learning but which contains an important learning component.

(Source: Chapter 327, Education Act)​

Thus the validation of informal and non-formal learning (VINFL) consists of the:

  • ​​identification through the dialogue of particular experiences of an individual;
  • documentation to make visible the individual’s experiences;
  • a formal assessment of these experiences; and
  • certification of the results of the assessment which may lead to a partial or full qualification.
    (Sources: CEDEFOP, 2008; Council of the European Union, 2012; Chapter 327, Education Act)

MFHEA is entrusted to:​

  • ​​​Introduce a validation system for informal and non-formal learning.
  • Set up the resources for the VINFL department to function efficiently.
  • Create a national awareness on the VINFL process and the legislation.
  • Convene meetings with key stakeholders on sector skills units and their functions.
  • Develop National Occupational Standards in identified areas.
  • Cooperate with  competent entities to evaluate the candidates.
  • Work Together with  the relevant stakeholders in the various sectors and achieve benchmarking for the validation processes.
  • Cooperate Inform the general public about the National Guidelines for the validation of informal and non-formal learning,  by drafting information leaflets on the validation process, targeted to specific groups including the individual employers.
  • Work on the setting up of Occupational Sector Units, whom shall ensure that good work ethics as well as good work practice are implemented and maintained within their parameters.​​


Validation Assessment Centre

Are you interested in offering validation assessment in any of the roles specified in the Occupational Standards?

A validation assessment centre offers the assessment part of the Validation of Non-Formal and Informal Learning as per Regulation 9 of S.L 607.02. The Validation of Non-Formal and Informal Learning is a process which identifies, assesses and formally certifies the knowledge, skills and competences which individuals develop throughout their lives by means of participation in non-formal and informal learning.

By becoming a validation assessment centre it means that following the appropriate assessment procedure as agreed upon and supported by the Sector Skills Unit, you can certify the experience of persons in roles covered by the National Occupational Standards on the Malta Qualifications Database. The current sectors you can offer validation assessment in are as follows:

  • Health and Social Care
  • Education Support
  • Printing and Digital Media
  • Automotive
  • Building and Construction
  • IT
  • Hair and Beauty

As from 1st April 2021, the application fee to apply to become a Validation Assessment Centre is that of €300.

More information can be obtained from the application form which can be downloaded below:

Any queries can be addressed to: