Download Application for Provider Accreditation
Register – List of Licensed Providers and Accredited Programmes
Communications for Providers

Provider Licences

Provider accreditation (licensing) is the formal acknowledgement, issued by the Malta Further and Higher Education Authority (MFHEA) of the status, legitimacy and appropriateness of an education institution.
According to the Subsidiary Legislation 607.03 on Licensing, Accreditation and Quality Assurance, all education institutions offering further or higher education in or from Malta require a licence issued by​ the MFHEA to operate. This means that the institution has met the stipulated standards and guidelines as established by the MFHEA.​​​
The different categories of licences are: University, Higher Education Institution, Further Education Institution, Further Education Centre, and Tuition Centre.​ In order for an education institution to be eligible for a licence in the categories mentioned above, the following criteria need to be in place: ​
    • ​An accredited programme on the Malta Qualifications Framework and European Qualification Framework*;
    • Qualified academic staff (CVs will need to be submitted with the application);
  1. MEPA Certified premises. For further regulations and other possible venues for provision please refer to ACC/04/2016.
*Institutions applying under the category of a tuition centre are exempted from Criterion 1.

Licence Renewal/Changes

For a renewal of licence, the provider is requested to fill in all sections of the regular application form​ and to include all necessary documentation with the application.

When applying for a change in licence, the provider is to fill in the sections where the changes will occur, while indicating in the remaining sections that these will remain as per their previous application.

*MFHEA is formerly known as NCFHE.